Levels of Consciousness – Shame to Fear

The >Scale of Consciousness was developed to explain and measure states of mind. Below are explanation of the lower frequency level:

Shame (20)

Just a step above death, this is the consciousness level of one contemplating suicide or thoughts of death. This level can be thought of as self-directed hatred.

Guilt (30)

This is a step above shame, yet perhaps still having thoughts of suicide. Thinking of oneself as a sinner, and unable to forgive oneself for past transgressions.

Apathy (50)

Feeling hopeless or victimized; the state of learned helplessness. Many homeless people are trapped here.

Grief (75)

A state of perpetual sadness, loss and depression. One might drop down here after losing a loved one.

Fear (100)

Seeing the world as dangerous and unsafe; paranoia. There is an urgent need to want to rise above this level, or else remain trapped for a long time, such as in an abusive relationship.

Return to the Scale of Consciousness to learn more about the higher levels .